Book Review: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

b2

Blurb:

Bronte’s infamous Gothic novel tells the story of orphan Jane, a child of unfortunate circumstances. Raised and treated badly by her aunt and cousins and eventually sent away to a cruel boarding school, it is not until Jane becomes a governess at Thornfield that she finds happiness. Meek, measured, but determined, Jane soon falls in love with her brooding and stormy master, Mr. Rochester, but it is not long before strange and unnerving events occur in the house and Jane is forced to leave Thornfield to pursue her future.

Rating: 5 stars

My Review:

“I am no bird, and no net ensnares me; I am a free human being with an independent will.”

Jane Eyre is a memorable character – she is honest, she is independent and more important, she is a great woman! Such were my thoughts about Jane after I read this epic classic by Charlotte Bronte. In times when women were submissive and couldn’t or rather didn’t have to think for themselves, Jane was like a breath of fresh air. Reading this book made me think how on earth could Bronte go on to write this about a good 160 years ago and not face any bashing for it?

This question led me to do some research and guess what I found – Charlotte Bronte got Jane Eyre published under the pen name – Currer Bell. It is easy to guess why she would have done that. Coming back to Jane, she was an epitome of endurance of character and unfading strength. Jane led a difficult childhood living with her relatives and then at a boarding school, where she did go on to become a teacher as well. As lackluster as her life seems to the reader, we can’t help but wonder if there would be an end to the hardships she goes through.

Jane then moves on to work as a governess for a little French girl. This is where she meets Mr. Rochester whom she gradually falls heads over heels in love with. Both he and she are shown to be witty and smart and provide some of the most interesting banter in the book. Complicated yet alluring – that is how I would describe him. “Reader, I married him” summarizes the end for you – our admirable Jane marries Mr. Rochester. But hold on! The most interesting part is the way these two part ways and still end up together. I am inclined to say they were star-crossed lovers destined to be together.

I absolutely adored the writing in this book. Its eloquent to the point – not more, not less. Its complex yet offers a seamless flow which makes it unputdownable. I am going to have to say it – this is the best read that you can treat yourself too if you want a dash of romance, gothic literature and naturalism in life.

Leave a comment